Environmental Commission

The Holmdel Environmental Commission (HEC), established by the Township Committee in accordance with state law and the Township Code, is an advisory body of Township residents appointed by the Mayor. 

Responsibilities of the HEC include:

  • Maintain an inventory of open space properties, publicly or privately owned, in the township;
  • Maintain an inventory of natural and environmental resources in the township;
  • Design, construct, and maintain trails on township properties and conduct public walks on these trails;
  • Publicize our activities and accomplishments by advertising, preparing, printing and distributing reports, maps, charts, plans and pamphlets;
  • Identify, research, and advise the Mayor and Township Committee on environmental issues that may affect the township and/or its residents;
  • Review development applications and make recommendations to the Planning Board and the Zoning Board of Adjustment;
  • Review the Master Plan and make recommendations to the Planning Board.

Upcoming Events

Important Documents


Environmental Commission funding is appropriated by the Township Committee as part of the Township’s annual budget. In addition, the Commission seeks grants from the state and other sources to fund specific projects.


In 1968 a law was enacted law authorizing New Jersey municipalities to establish conservation commissions that would be advisory bodies on natural resource planning and protection, and open space issues. In 1972 the law was amended expanding the commissions’ responsibilities to other areas of environmental concern such as pollution prevention and control, solid waste management, noise control and environmental appearance. At that time the name was changed to environmental commissions. Today environmental commissions are local environmental advocates involved in a broad range of activities.

Commission Members

NameTerm LengthTerm Expiration
Karen Strickland (Chair)Three YearsDecember 31, 2023
Chiung-Yin Cheng LiuThree YearsDecember 31, 2023
Gary Vanderham (Planning Board Liaison)Three YearsDecember 31, 2025
Jill PerezThree YearsDecember 31, 2025
Randy Rauscher (Vice Chair 2)Three YearsDecember 31, 2024
Anthony Salerno Three YearsDecember 31, 2025
Ralph Blumenthal (Vice Chair)Three YearsDecember 31, 2024
Chiung-yin Cheng LiuThree YearsDecember 31, 2025
Janet Jackel (Alternate #1)Three YearsDecember 31, 2025
John Galasso (Alternate #2)Two YearsDecember 31, 2023
Loretta Coscia (Commission Secretary)

How to Volunteer  

To volunteer to serve on a Township board or commissions please fill out an online application.