- Traffic Safety Unit
- Driving While Intoxicated
Driving While Intoxicated
The Holmdel Township Police Department takes driving while intoxicated very seriously. Over the past 3 years over 300 DWI arrests were made by the Holmdel Township Police Department. We have received numerous awards from the Monmouth County Task Force on Drunk Driving and the New Jersey Senate.
Drinking & Driving Resources
Definition of Impairment
In New Jersey, a person is guilty of drunk driving if he/she operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater. BAC refers to the amount of alcohol in your blood. Although the law refers to a 0.08% BAC, you can be convicted of driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor even when your BAC is below 0.08%. Consuming even small amounts of alcohol dulls the senses, decreases reaction time, and hampers judgment.
- A fine between $250 and $400
- Possible imprisonment for up to 30 days
- Six months to one year suspension of license
- A minimum of 6 hours a day for 2 days detainment in an intoxicated driver
- Resource Center, at a charge of $75 a day
- An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
- $100 surcharge to be deposited in a drunk driving enforcement fund
- A Division of Motor Vehicle restoration fee of $50 and an intoxicated driving
- Program fee of $100
- A violent crimes compensation fund fee $50
- A safe and secure community program fee of $50
In addition to the penalties listed, judges may order the installation of an ignition interlock device or the revocation of vehicle registration. The ignition interlock device, which measures the driver blood alcohol level, may be required for up to three years following license restoration after a DWI conviction.
In New Jersey, you must be 21 years of age to purchase, possess or consume alcoholic beverages. Underage drinking is illegal and can have severe consequences for young people who drink and for adults who provide alcoholic beverages to those under 21 years of age.
If you are under 21 years of age and drive with a detectable amount of alcohol in your system (0.01 BAC or above), you will be subjected to the following penalties: Loss or postponement of driving privileges for 30 to 90 days 15 to 30 days community service
Participation in a program of alcohol education and highway safety.